none
connect a Dataset created in code with ReportViewer RRS feed

• Question

• I have written code in vb.net 2008 to create a dataset and fill it using a dataadapter with SQL string.
    I am not using any wizards to build any datasources or datasets.

I have been trying to figure out how to get the MicrosoftReportViewer to see my dataset.  Is this possible?

I have used ActiveReports in the past, but not much.
    I am new to this stuff.  Can someone explain carefully the steps to design the report and attach it to the dataset that I built?

I really need details if someone can spare the time.

-duane

Duane Sanders
    • Edited by Duane Sanders Wednesday, August 12, 2009 7:16 PM correction
    Wednesday, August 12, 2009 7:15 PM

Answers

• Hi Duane,

If you already have a dataset in your project and it is hooked up to the database via TableAdapter, then it is straightforward.  You can simply do this:

1.  Add New Item.  Choose Report under Reporting tab.  Let's call it Report1.rdlc
    2.  Open the report.  Your dataset should be in the data source pane.
    3.  Design your report.  http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms252067.aspx  Report1.rdlc
    4.  Add the viewer to your form.
    5.  Click on the ReportViewer Task Pane and configure the viewer to use Report1.rdlc.
    6.  Run the app and you should be all set.

However, from what I understand, you have created the dataset in code.

If you create a dataset in code programmatically, it is better to create a "placeholder" XSD in the same schema so that the RDLC designer knows the schema of the dataset and you can use it to design the report.

Here are the steps that I would do to add a report to my app:
    0.  Create a Dataset1.xsd, which a schema matching the one that you have created in code
    1.  Add New Item.  Choose Report under Reporting tab.  Let's call it Report1.rdlc
    2.  Open Report1.rdlc in the RDLC designer.
    3.  The dataset should show up in the Data Sources Pane.