How can I get Values from a set of Collections of KeyValuePairs with LINQ? RRS feed

• Question

• I have a custom LINQ provider.  I've defined a query with a projection (i.e. I SELECT.  When I collapse (/precipitate/whatever you call it when you cause to be run) the query, I get a bunch of custom collections of KeyValuePair<string, object>'s.

What I'd like to do is, from that, get a bunch of objects for which the strings equal a particular value.  At the moment, I'm enumerating over the bunch of custom collections and, within that, enumerating over the collection of KeyValuePairs and adding to a list all of the objects where string = "x".  I feel that I ought to be able to do this in LINQ but I can't work out how.  I'm new to LINQ - I know there are loads of resources out there but I can't work out how to phrase the question so that my searches throw out the answer.

I'll be grateful for any help you can give me.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012 7:28 PM

Answers

• If I have well undestood your goal, I think you can acheive it by doing this:

IEnumerable<KeyValuePair<string, object>>[] bunch = new IEnumerable<KeyValuePair<string, object>>[]
    {
    	new Dictionary<string, object>(),
    };

IEnumerable<object> result = bunch.SelectMany(collection => collection.Where(kvp => kvp.Key.Equals("searchedKey")).Select(kvp => kvp.Value));

Jojo

Thursday, January 26, 2012 7:32 AM

All replies

• If I have well undestood your goal, I think you can acheive it by doing this:

IEnumerable<KeyValuePair<string, object>>[] bunch = new IEnumerable<KeyValuePair<string, object>>[]
    {
    };

IEnumerable<object> result = bunch.SelectMany(collection => collection.Where(kvp => kvp.Key.Equals("searchedKey")).Select(kvp => kvp.Value));

Jojo

Thursday, January 26, 2012 7:32 AM
  • Thanks for the reply: that's great!  If I .ToList() the original query it works exactly as I wanted.