none
Learning to Code? What's the rush? RRS feed

• General discussion

• I just read an interesting article titled: Do slower programmers get there faster?

http://jaxenter.com/slow-programming-112923.html 

At this point in time I'm not too fussed about getting anywhere specifically. I'm still on a learning journey. I've been learning to code for 2 years now and when I started I did some research on learning to become a good programmer. My take away was that it takes quite a while to get any good at it. I'm working on a 5 to 10 year learning path.

So after 2 years of SB I've learnt the language and some good programming techniques so that I can program with it. Towards the end of that period I've finally began to gain a good understanding of what SB is good for, albeit this understanding is subjective but always open to new thoughts.

My next language after SB was C# - a different language with a bigger library. It's gunna take me years to learn that one and how to use it. No biggie, i'll most likely be still alive in 5 years from now.

Now I'm at the point where I want wrap up my learning with SB. I figure my own "show what you know" project might be the way to go here. This will require applying everything I've learnt about Programming so far. A holistic approach. I bet I learn lots in the process.

Picking up new languages along the way.

While doing my wrap up I've began to learn/pick up HTLM5, CSS3 and some server/client side scripting. While doing this I put down one language to focus on another, a learning technique I find helpful. My best solutions come to me when I'm doing something else (often when I'm not even in front of a computer).

My thoughts on Slow Programming: