none
Macro - Import, Resize, Adjust Format, Position, Insert Text Box, Lines RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have a challenge for those of you that are really good with macros. I am a beginner with macros and would like to use them to make my work a little easier. I have a multitude of images of cells that I have to import into word, change the format to tight, resize each image, equally space them on a sheet, insert lines to differentiate each picture from another one, and then add a text box at the bottom of each of these images to add what type of cells they are. I would like this to be done automatically with the click of a macro function if possible. I have code to change the size of these images and to import them, but I don't know how to add everything else or even these codes to the new codes. If someone could help me do the following procedures in this sequential order, I would very much appreciate it:

1) Import a specific folder of pictures, 2) select all of these pictures to change their format to "tight," 3) resize all of these pictures to Height: 2.00 inches and width: 2.70833333333333 inches, 4) place eight of these pictures in 4 rows and 2 columns next to one another, 5) add a bolded dark line between each picture to differentiate the pictures, and 6) add a text box to the bottom of each of these panels with a black background (each individual picture, 8 text boxes per sheet). 

If someone could figure out how to do this with a click of a button, it would be a huge time saver! 

Thank you!!

Friday, May 31, 2013 6:13 PM

Answers

• 1) Import a specific folder of pictures

You can use DIR$ function to traverse all image files in a specific folder:

'Insert all bmp files in the specific folder to the document

Dim FolderName As String
    Dim FileName As String
    Dim FullPath As String

FolderName = "D:\myFolder\"        'Don't forget the last "\"
    FileName = Dir$(FolderName & "*.bmp")

Do While FileName <> ""