none
Beginner questions about PowerShell and Word

Question

• Two questions:

1) Support forums:

Is this the appropriate forum for what I’m trying to do?

I’m new to PowerShell. I want to use it for some simple automation, of Word macros and Mail Merge processes and the like. I don’t really know what I’m doing, and I don't want to acquire great expertise. I just want to find some examples which I can clone from. Or is PowerShell too complex for this approach?

Googling led me to the website PowerShell.com. I downloaded a useful free e-book, Master PowerShell by Dr Tobias Weltner, and the forum contains a lot of helpful-looking posts but I have not succeeded in joining it and I don’t get any replies from its support email address, info@powershell.com.

2) Specific question about PowerShell and Word:

How can I find out how to run Word commands from PowerShell?

I want to write a PowerShell script which edits a Word document. I’m starting from a Word macro and trying to convert its commands to PowerShell. TypeText and TypeParagraph are simple enough, but I can’t get anywhere with MoveDown and its parameters. I can’t find anything on the web which tells me about the commands to edit a Word document in PowerShell. Once I’ve got over this I shall be trying to set up a loop and outputting multiple Word files or PDFs.

This is the script which I have got to work so far. It opens an existing file, makes a change or two, and saves it under a new name.

# Word21.ps1
    $word = New-Object -ComObject "Word.Application"
    $word.Visible = $True
    $filename = 'C:\Users\Seamus\Dropbox\PowerShell\Testing\MOC Collection PDFs design 2016-03-30.docx'
    $doc = $word.documents.open($filename)
    $selection=$word.Selection
    $selection.TypeText("string")
    $selection.TypeParagraph()
    $selection.TypeText("more string")
    $selection.TypeParagraph()
    $doc.SaveAs([ref]"C:\Users\Seamus\Dropbox\PowerShell\Testing\MOC 02.docx")
    $doc.Close()
    $word.Quit()