How to create a Login Page with LightSwitch RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Lightswitch .I want to create a Lightswitch appliaction starting with a Login Page redirecting to other pages after success Login
    Sunday, October 7, 2012 9:31 AM

Answers

• Hi Asrar,

do you have any special requirement why you want to create your own login screen?

If you want authentication, you can simply enable it inside the properties of your lightswitch project (Inside Access Control tab). There you can choose between Windows Authentication and Forms based authentication.

If you activate that, then a user must authenticate himself first.

With kind regards,

Konrad

• Proposed as answer by Angie Xu Tuesday, October 16, 2012 2:38 AM
    • Marked as answer by Otomii Lu Thursday, October 18, 2012 1:47 AM
    Monday, October 8, 2012 12:04 PM

All replies

• Hi Asrar,

do you have any special requirement why you want to create your own login screen?

If you want authentication, you can simply enable it inside the properties of your lightswitch project (Inside Access Control tab). There you can choose between Windows Authentication and Forms based authentication.

If you activate that, then a user must authenticate himself first.

With kind regards,

Konrad

• Proposed as answer by Angie Xu Tuesday, October 16, 2012 2:38 AM
    • Marked as answer by Otomii Lu Thursday, October 18, 2012 1:47 AM
    Monday, October 8, 2012 12:04 PM
  • When I tried that nothing happened. I found someone online who said I needed to add these lines to my Web.config in the Configuration Section:

<location path="HTMLClient">
        <system.web>
          <authorization>
            <deny users="?" />
          </authorization>
        </system.web>
      </location>

I added them and then Authentication kicked in.

I'm not sure why other LS users don't need to do that step.

I guess I'm special!

bill ross

Wednesday, November 27, 2013 2:32 PM
  • Hi guys,

I've got the same problem.