SignTool reported an error 'An internal certificate chaining error has occurred. RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to code signing.

After I swtich from the temperary test certificate to a real certificate from a CA, when I publish, I got two errors

"Error 1 Cannot publish because a project failed to build."
    "Error 2 SignTool reported an error 'An internal certificate chaining error has occurred.
    '."

and when I checked "Sign the assembly", when I build, it asks for a password,
    after I entered password, it says "Cannot find the certificate and private key for decryption"

Help me.

Thanks

Wei
    Monday, October 17, 2005 2:52 PM

Answers

• For Click Once Manifest Signing, you need to have the trusted chain to sign.   If you are talking about Assembly Signing - then you CAN and need to remove the chaining information to work with assembly signing.  BTW, Click Once Signing and Assembly Signing are two distinct processes and are do not need to done together. 

Here is a good link regarding when you should sign (strong name) your assembly.

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/h4fa028b(en-US,VS.80).aspx