WF4 and UI Flow RRS feed

• Question

• Just wondering if there is any guidance out there about how to use WF4 (RC) to control UI flow.  I'm new to Workflow, and I am looking to see if I can have a presentation layer component start a workflow and interact with that workflow to determine screen flow.  I'm using WPF in the presentation layer if that helps at all.  I've been playing with WF for a bit now and keep running in circles trying to figure out the best way for the workflow to inform my presentation component of the current state of the workflow.  Basically, I can't figure out the best way to communicate to/from the presentation component to/from the workflow. 

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    David
    Friday, March 5, 2010 1:39 PM

All replies

• There is a sample in the .net 4 RC WCF-WF samples package (WF_WCF_Samples\WF\Scenario\WPFWFIntegration).

I'm also working on the integration between wpf and wf since wf 3.0, but it was really painful.
    With WF 4.0, I reached great results.
    I saw two possible ways to achieve the goal: one consists of creating custom activities which perform operations over the UI. The second (my favourite) consists of working with the M-V-VM pattern; your workflow performs operation over the view models, and reflecting changes over the UI is left to the WPF system (through datatemplates, visual state etc.).

Hope this helps,
    Francesco
    Friday, March 5, 2010 2:49 PM
  • That paricular sample you mention doesn't seem to help me in my particular situation.  I guess what I'm trying to do is implement a state machine such that external code can recognize that the workflow is in State A and therefore show Screen A and then respond back into the workflow with Data A.