none
LINQ To SQL distinct RRS feed

• Question

• I am very new to LINQ but I have added two tables to my DataContext and they are joined on their uniqueidentifer columns. The two tables are define below:

Profiles
    UserID    uniqueidentifer (primary key)
    FullName varchar(50)

Blogs
    BlogID     int ( primary key )
    AuthorID uniqueidentifer - (tied to the Profiles.UserID)

Now what I am trying to do is populate a combo box with a list of all the Blog authors full name. Obviously I dont want the same name listed twice I am having trouble understanding how to specify that I want the records to be distinct on the Blogs.AuthorID column.

Here is my code...

WebDBDataContext dc = new WebDBDataContext();

var blogs = (from b in dc.Blogs

select b).Distinct() ;

ddlAuthor.ClearSelection();

if (blogs != null)

{

foreach ( Blog blog in blogs)

{

ddlAuthor.Items.Add(blog.Profile.FullName);

}

}

Lastly I assume it is clear I am trying to select all the columns in those tables but only filter / distinct on one of the columns.

I dont want to do a query that will only return just the distinct AuthorIDs and nothing else so please dont post that as an example. I want to do one query that returns all coulmns.

Anthony
    • Edited by Anthony Jowers Friday, April 23, 2010 4:53 AM clarification
    Friday, April 23, 2010 4:43 AM

Answers

• I assume you put 'AuthorID' and not 'Author' as I put in my sample.

You should create a relationship between the two classes so that Blog gets an 'Author' property that points to the instance of the author object thus preventing you from having to write code to take the authorid and go and lookup an author object every time.

If you have a foreign key relationship set up in the tables in SQL then you will find the LINQ to SQL designer automatically creates such an association when you drag them in (although it may default to 'Profile' - I forget).

[)amien

Friday, April 23, 2010 6:09 AM

All replies