none
MFC Application pass SAFEARRAY to .NET COM component RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm new to MFC, COM and .NET (well, new to windows programming, basically), and I have the following situation:

1. A .NET GUI component project exported to COM (C++/CLI, built in VS2008),

registered using 'regasm.exe myLib.dll /tlb',

implements a IMylib interface (InterfaceType::Dual),

contains a method which takes in a parameter 'array<int>^ value',

2. A MFC application(built in VS2003) project that needs to use the .NET component,

add above .NET component by "Add class->MFC Class From ActiveX Control" (not by #import),

Problem:

MFC wrapper class generated failed to compile, error C2143: syntax error : missing ';' before 'constant'

unsigned char MyMethod(long _id, SAFEARRAY * _values)
    	{
    		unsigned char result;
    		static BYTE parms[] = VTS_I4 VTS_NONE;

InvokeHelper(0x60020003, DISPATCH_METHOD, VT_UI1, (void*)&result, parms, _id, _values);
    		return result;
    	}

problem (as I understand) is:

.NET component 'array<int>^ value' is mapped to SAFEARRAY* in COM, but SAFEARRAY* is not properly mapped to a VTS_*

my questions:

1. How to modify the wrapper class?

2. To use the .NET GUI component, is above way (in MFC project Add class->MFC Class From ActiveX Control) correct? If not, what's the correct way?

Thanks in advance!

Regards,

Wade

Tuesday, March 1, 2011 10:08 AM

Answers

• Hello Wade,

1. >> .NET component 'array<int>^ value' is mapped to SAFEARRAY* in COM, but SAFEARRAY* is not properly mapped to a VTS_*

1.1 There are several limitations inherent in the wizards which are due mainly to unexpected user requirements or code complexities which cannot be generalized. 

1.2 In such cases, hand-coding wizard-generated code becomes necessary. Fortunately for your particular case there is a way around this problem which is suggested below.

2. >> How to modify the wrapper class?