Should I change over to Core from MVC 5 RRS feed

• Question

• User1034446946 posted

I am about to finalise changing alls my backend processing, at which time I am going to go through all the controllers and re jig them all to work with my new setup.

The project is not live yet but will be in the as soon as I can get it done, there are no outside contraints controlling time scales.

I have no knowledge of core, but feel as though i would be missing an opportunity before launch.

I am also concerned some libraries i use might not have a core version, as I have red core libraries are different.

Any thoughts? Also is anyone has a link to videos (or articles) explaining the difference it would be appriciated.

Friday, February 15, 2019 7:12 PM

Answers

• User475983607 posted

I am about to finalise changing alls my backend processing, at which time I am going to go through all the controllers and re jig them all to work with my new setup.

The project is not live yet but will be in the as soon as I can get it done, there are no outside contraints controlling time scales.

I have no knowledge of core, but feel as though i would be missing an opportunity before launch.

I am also concerned some libraries i use might not have a core version, as I have red core libraries are different.

Any thoughts? Also is anyone has a link to videos (or articles) explaining the difference it would be appriciated.

The Docs link above has everything you need to learn ASP.NET Core. 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/aspnet/?view=aspnetcore-2.2#pivot=core

Compatibility is defined in the .NET Standard. 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/standard/net-standard

The majority of the .NET framework APIs work in ASP.NET Core.  I don't think you'll have issues with compatibility but you'll need to verify the assemblies you are using.

Also is anyone has a link to videos (or articles) explaining the difference it would be appriciated.

Again, the Docs have everything you need.