Code help RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to Visual Studios C# and I am trying to write a code that describes a process of a machine. The program asks the user types in the current values of 2 sensors (0 for off, 1 for on). The problem that I am having is that when the user types a value of 0 for sensor 1 and a value of 1 for sensor 2, the program gives the output for sensor 1 and not sensor 2.  I was wondering how I would do that? (I am using .NET framework in Visual Studios C#). Thanks in advance. 

Here is a sample of my code:

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Text;
    using System.Threading.Tasks;

namespace Question_1_Program
    {
        class Program
        {
            static async Task Main(string[] args)
            {
                int x, y;
                //User inputs the current value of sensors 1 & 2 using values 0 & 1 (0 = False/Off & 1 = True/On). 
                Console.WriteLine("Input the value for sensor one (0 = False/Off, 1 = True/On):");
                x = Convert.ToInt32(Console.ReadLine());

Console.WriteLine("Input the value for sensor two (0 = False/Off, 1 = True/On):");
                y = Convert.ToInt32(Console.ReadLine());

if (x==1)
                //Delay is added between each message.
                Console.WriteLine("Turning off mixing motor 1. Please wait...");
                await Task.Delay(2500);
                Console.WriteLine("Closing valve 3, and opening valves 1 and 2. Please wait...");
                await Task.Delay(2500);
                Console.WriteLine("Filling up tank. Please wait...");
                await Task.Delay(2000);
                Console.WriteLine("Tank is 100% full!");
                await Task.Delay(1200);
                Console.WriteLine("Commencing shut down of valves 1 and 2. Please wait...");
                await Task.Delay(1200);
                Console.WriteLine("Valves 1 and 2 shutdown.");