none
Best way/approach to quickly learning a new programming language RRS feed

• Question

• Hi I have been writing code for many years and I'm able to develop applications in more than 3 programming languages :  C#, VB.Net and C++, QBasic (no longer using it), Javascript...

The approach I usually use is as follows :

- First of all, I pick up a small tuto of 30-40 pages to learn and practice the more basic.

- Second of all, I move on to a more middle tuto/ebook of no more than 300 pages, I mean a book of 100-200-300 pages and practice at the same time.

- Third of all, I start practicing, I mean I imagine an Application with CRUD operation having many features then I start writing it with skills I learnt from Book_1 and Book_2.

Now, I need to learn Android / Xamarin for upcoming projects and one of my colleague advised me to follow his approach as it works very very well.

He told me to download source code of any Android app in Github and start reading and analyzing it, instead of reading books.

So Now, I'm question is : Is it right to learn like that? Is anyone out there following this approach too to tell us more about it?

or do you have another quick approach to learn Android/Xamarin ?

PS : I know this is not Xamarin forum but it's a general question on how to learn a new programming language.

Christine

• Edited by Christine25 Wednesday, March 4, 2020 12:23 PM
    Wednesday, March 4, 2020 8:32 AM

All replies

• Hi Christine,

Thank you for posting here.

Everyone has their own way of learning. For me, it can be roughly divided into 3 steps.

1. Learn the basics of the language, such as grammar and unique features. This step can choose books or videos or other methods according to personal habits.

2. Use what you have learned to build a simple but working project.