Emulator Behavior with Touchscreen Laptop RRS feed

• Question

• I've been developing for Windows Phone for 2 1/2 years on a laptop with a touchscreen (HP dv6t-SE if it matters).  I started with Win7, then Win8, and now Win8.1.  I'm using VS 2013 Pro. 

Until recently, the touchscreen has worked just as expected with the emulator.  Swipes, taps, tap/hold - everything.  But suddenly the past two days, when I tap/hold on the emulator surface, to pull up a context menu, or even to tap/hold start screen tiles to unpin them, instead of a tap/hold event, the laptop gives me a right-click event, with the square that would pop up if you do a tap/hold for right-click on a non-WP surface.

I have looked everywhere I can think of to figure out what setting may have changed, but this is driving me nuts, especially since I'm trying to use a context menu on my WP app for the first time.  If I turn off the right-click option in the touch settings of the PC, tap/hold on the emulator surface does nothing.  With it on, I get the right-click square. 

If anyone can offer any suggestions, I'd greatly appreciate it.

-- Rich

Thursday, October 31, 2013 8:11 PM

Answers

• Ok - so a restart later (I'd already tried restarting, and had also restarted a few times in the mean time), and it's back to working correctly. Weird. Thanks for all the input.

-- Rich

• Marked as answer by Rich Hopkins Sunday, November 3, 2013 2:13 AM
    Saturday, November 2, 2013 3:22 PM

All replies

• Does this affect all emulator functions?

...like Tap and hold on a Tile on the home screen, to switch to tile management mode, or Tap and hold on the emulator skins back button to bring up the task list within the emulator.

-Eric.

Friday, November 1, 2013 4:54 PM