none
Access 2016 AutoNumber RRS feed

• Question

• Disclaimer: I'm no expert with Access and I did not build the database, it's been around for the past 10 years and I'm learning to use it with my job. I've had no experience with databases until now.

I have a Query and a table of stops along a route. Column of numbers and a column of the name of the stop. As it is now everything is done manually. The problem I have is when I need to add a new stop on the route I have to sit here and manually renumber everything so when the list gets printed out it stays in order.

So say on the route: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9... I need to a new stop in between 7 and 8. I have to type in 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10. It's not a hard thing to do other than the fact that I have about 200 stops. Is there a way to add a number point in the list somewhere and it can auto adjust the numbers? Does auto number work in this way? I've looked up auto number but it seems to only add to the bottom of the list, I need to add throughout the list.

THANKS!

Thursday, March 30, 2017 11:10 PM

All replies

• Hi,

You can't use Autonumbers for this purpose. Once an  Autonumber is used, it can't be reused.

You can do this using code or some other approach. For example, take a look at this demo for rearranging the sort order of records in a table.

Hope it helps a little...

Friday, March 31, 2017 12:26 AM
  • Let's say you have a table MyTable, with columns MyIndex, of long integer data type (not autonumber) and MyText, of Short Text data type, as below:

MyIndex    MyText
    1               A
    2               B
    3               C
    4               D
    5               E
    6               F
    7               G
    8               H
    9               I
    10             J
    11             K
    12             L

and you want to insert a row with a MyText value 'GG' between 7 and 8.  Then call the following function:

Function InsertIndex(lngPosition As Long, strText As String)