none
How do you password protect a programtically generated OPEN XML Excel workbook ? RRS feed

• Question

• Firstly apologies if this is in the wrong thread/place - this is my first time asking a question via microsoft help forums.

I've spent the last few weeks implementing dynamically generated excel 2007 worksheets from an ASP.net web application using Open XML.  I've found it very tough going but have muddled through so far.  Over the last 3 or 4 days I've been unsuccessfully attempting to add password protection to the workbooks that the application generates.

I've read al of the MSDN documentation on the WorkbookProtection class here, I've also read this post and tried the suggestions in this blog, but so far the best that I can get to happen is for the Workbook to be created with no password protection.  The worst I can get to happen is for the Workbook to not be created correctly.

I cannot find anywhere online that shows a good example of how to correctly implement the WorkbookProtection class so I'm at a complete loss as to how to progress any further.

Here is a snippet of the code that I've been testing with:

//  Workbook Protection
                            workbookpart.Workbook.WorkbookProtection = new WorkbookProtection();
                            workbookpart.Workbook.WorkbookProtection.LockStructure = true;
                            workbookpart.Workbook.WorkbookProtection.LockWindows = true;
                            workbookpart.Workbook.WorkbookProtection.WorkbookAlgorithmName = "SHA-1";

string textToHash = "Test";
                            byte[] byteRepresentation = UnicodeEncoding.UTF8.GetBytes(textToHash);
                            byte[] hashedTextInBytes = null;
                            System.Security.Cryptography.SHA1 sha = new System.Security.Cryptography.SHA1CryptoServiceProvider();
                            hashedTextInBytes = sha.ComputeHash(byteRepresentation);