OleDbException (0x80004005): [DBNETLIB][ConnectionOpen (SECCreateCredentials()).]SSL Security error. RRS feed

• Question

• I have come here today after speding days trying to solve an issue. I have this ASP.Net application that I have been working on since 2010.

Recently a new client showed interest in using the application. Of course, there were several requirements that my application needed to have. This client is very cautious when talking about security.

One of the most important requirements was the support for the protocol TLS 1.2 They would disable older protocols (SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0), and only enable TLS 1.2

As soon as they did that in their server my application stopped working. It was working before just fine, and the reason they need to apply this configuration is because they want to let users connect to the app through the Internet, not only inside their lan.

This is the error I am getting when trying to connect to the application

[OleDbException (0x80004005): [DBNETLIB][ConnectionOpen (SECCreateCredentials()).]SSL Security error.]
       System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnectionInternal..ctor(OleDbConnectionString constr, OleDbConnection connection) +497
       System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnectionFactory.CreateConnection(DbConnectionOptions options, DbConnectionPoolKey poolKey, Object poolGroupProviderInfo, DbConnectionPool pool, DbConnection owningObject) +100
       System.Data.ProviderBase.DbConnectionFactory.CreateNonPooledConnection(DbConnection owningConnection, DbConnectionPoolGroup poolGroup, DbConnectionOptions userOptions) +57
       System.Data.ProviderBase.DbConnectionFactory.TryGetConnection(DbConnection owningConnection, TaskCompletionSource`1 retry, DbConnectionOptions userOptions, DbConnectionInternal oldConnection, DbConnectionInternal& connection) +1143