none
what is this code name and application (Value of x: {0}", x)

Question

• Hi All

I am very new to coding, I am wondering how use below code and what is this method name?

for (int x = 10; x < 15; x++) { Console.WriteLine("Value of x: {0}", x); }

RESULT /* Value of x: 10 Value of x: 11 Value of x: 12 Value of x: 13 Value of x: 14 */

I tried this but didn't seems work

for (int i = 1; i <= 10; i++)
                {
                    StreamWriter File = new StreamWriter(string.Format(@"C:\Users\Katrin\Desktop\New folder\"{0},i.html", i.ToString()));
                    File.Write();
                    File.Close();

• Edited by lves Wednesday, April 5, 2017 2:43 PM
    Wednesday, April 5, 2017 2:42 PM

Answers

• The first block of code is writing out the values 10 - 14 to the console window.

The code you're trying to write is counting from 1 to 10. Each time through the loop you're creating a new file with the given index. You then call Write but pass nothing so the file would be empty. Also note that you're using File uppercase which, in .NET, is generally only done with types. There is already a File type so if you're using System.IO then the code is going to get confusing as you're basically overriding the type that is already available which may mean some functionality (eg. File.Exists) won't work because the compiler will prefer your local File variable over the system provided File type. You should use camel casing for local variables and reserve Pascal casing for types only.

It's unclear what you're trying to accomplish.

{
       using (var file = new StreamWriter(String.Format(@"C:\Temp\{0}.txt", i)))
       {
          //Write something out
          file.Write("hello");
       };
    };

You mentioned method name but this looks like it is in your Main method which is the code that runs when your program runs so there really isn't any other method you're creating at this point.

Michael Taylor
    http://www.michaeltaylorp3.net