The "most elegant" method of instance communication. RRS feed

• Question

• I've written a variety of "behind the scenes" applications (and none of them viral), most of which work in most legacy and most current versions of Windows.  The problem child is 7, the applications run (as they're installed correctly using Admin priveldges in the installer), they run just fine, with one minor issue, which I'm trying to decide how to resolve, since I've been using this method for many many years.

The application is hidden from the user (usually "acts" like a server, but does something nice in the background), it's usually doing drudge work (like removing resource fork leftovers from NTSC partitions shared by Mac users when the data fork is removed).  Most of these programs either have a "status" or some small gui's built into them.

What I've normally been doing was finding the previous instance, then finding it's "service" window and "bumping" it with a SendMessageTimeout, which as of Windows 7, is a security issue unless the Admin does it.  I'm alright with this, but without having to resort to bumping the priviledge up to Admin level to just to talk to the already running application, I thought I'd ask here if anyone has Legacy to beyond "safe" way to tell another instance of the application "I've been run again, please respond, I'm leaving, you deal with it."

All of the ideas I've had, are either overly complex or can be blocked again by even more system security, like a TCP port, firewall can stop it and then there are others I was thinking of, all of which at one point were either too "far out there" that I guess I've over analyzed the situation.  So I'm asking for an elegant and safe OS version method of telling the active application to tell the current previous instance to deal with the user running it again.  I'm not sure I want to monitor the amount of times the application is running unless it can be monitored safely without "false alarms".

GuruSR.