none
Windows CE on ARM Cortex A8 RRS feed

• Question

• I am a developer of glass cockpits for aircraft. Our company (MGL Avionics - www.MGLAvionics.co.za) has developed its own in house operating system and even programming language and compilers for these systems. They work fine but now we have a new project where we need to provide a general purpose operating system platform.
    We are looking at both Linux and Windows CE as candidates and currently favour Windows CE (slightly). We are quite confident that we can port our EFIS application to either operating system (even if we have to use some kind of wrapper app).
    The platform we are developing contains a Ti ARM Cortex A8 chip and thus I have a question that docs on CE so far could not answer (at least I have not found out where to look yet):

a) Does Windows CE natively use the thumb-2 instruction set or does it use the 32 bit ARM instruction set on the Cortex A8 ?

b) Related to (a) - Does the application natively run in ARM or Thumb-2 mode ?, i.e. on application entry is the instruction set ARM or Thumb-2 ?

I'm sure I'll have more questions as time goes by - but that's one for starters. Anybody on this forum know ?

Rainier

Wednesday, June 16, 2010 6:59 AM

Answers

• I understand your point about performance and feeling that you are "losing control" of your device is pretty common when you move from firmware development to an OS.

In CE applications are not able to access hardware directly.

You can use NEON and VPF but (as KMOS correctly said) you should consider that you are running in a multi-thread environment and so registers must be restored on context switches.

The FP solution proposed by KMOS will use the VFPv2 floating point unit (ARM11 and A8), to use the full A8 VFPv3 floating point unit you need CE7 (Windows Embedded Compact 7, if you prefer the official name).