none
Create COM object from Pointer RRS feed

• Question

• I'm not even sure this is possible, and I'm no expert on COM or Interop, so any help is appreciated.

I have an application in C that uses COM objects. It exposes them to me via VBA. I've created a CCW for a simple library in C# which allows me to pass a COM reference between VBA and .NET in-process. I wanted to the advertise the object via Remoting so I don't have to close / open the host program during debugging for every iteration. All I need is a reference to a COM object the host C++ program creates.

I haven't had any success with this yet getting a File Not Found HRESULT from fusion. I assume it's unable to find the COM RCW for the COM library.

I was hoping I could dumb it down a bit instead. What if I passed an IntPtr via remoting to a .NET client, and then used the .NET client to create a reference to the COM object? Are COM objects safe to use out-of-process like this? How would I get the handle? How would I create the handle? Am I limited to late-binding all calls this way?
    Monday, July 13, 2009 8:43 PM

Answers

• You can't pass a pointer from one process to another and expect it to be meaningful in the target process. Each process has its own virtual memory adress space.
    Mattias, C# MVP
    Tuesday, July 14, 2009 8:15 AM

All replies

• You can't pass a pointer from one process to another and expect it to be meaningful in the target process. Each process has its own virtual memory adress space.
    Mattias, C# MVP
    Tuesday, July 14, 2009 8:15 AM
  • What about the Running Object's Table? How can I leverage that for inter-process communication? I know it's possible, but is there a better way? Should I just wrap it in a Remoting interface?
    Monday, July 20, 2009 6:50 PM