Issue in display of foreign key column when Scaffolding is enabled RRS feed

• Question

• User1381821790 posted

Hi,

I am new to ASP.NET. I have created a website with Scaffolding enabled on all the tables of my database. I understand that the foreign keys are automatically detected and relations are established between tables.

If any table has a foreign key, it is seen that in the List view of that table ,a link will be provided (in the place of the foreign key value) which opens the corresponding row in the foreign table. However the link value will not be same as the actual foreign key value ( I have observed that it picks the first non-null varchar column of the foreign table.)

For Example, I have two tables:

User with columns : UserID int, DepartmentID int (which is a foreign key column pointing to Department table) and

Department with columns: DepartmentID int primary key,Status varchar not null ,Name varchar not null.

In the list view of User table, under DepartmentID column, I can see that it displays the data in Status column corresponding to that DepartmentID.This is actually inappropriate and is confusing to the users.  Instead it should have displayed a link whose value is same as that of the departmentID. 

The same issue is seen in the DropdownList of the foreign keys which which appear as filters and also in the Edit and Insert pages.

Can some body please let me know how to change this? I want my foreign key column in the list view and also the foreign key dropdowns to have the actual value of the Foreign key and not the value of some other varchar column of the table.

Tuesday, March 13, 2012 3:59 PM

Answers

• User-330204900 posted

I understand that this attribute should be set in my Model.Designer.cs, before the partial class declaration. How ever this will be overridden when the model is updated at some poing of time.. How do we handle it?