none
Building and compiling Win32 c++ application in VS 2015

General discussion

• I'm new at VS, having come from a c++ linux world, so please bear with me for asking stupid questions.

To get started with W32 development, I've tried a completely basic Visual C++ W32 application - namely the default application which is created when you select New -> Project -> Visual C++ -> Win32 -> Win32 Project, Application type: Windows application, Precompiled header (X), Security Development Licecycle (X).

As you all know, this creates a basic W32 application with nothing more than a window.

I can build the solution, by chosing Build -> Build Solution (F6), and it compiles, builds and runs.

However, if I select Build -> Compile (Ctrl-F7), I get the following error message:

Error    MSB3644    The reference assemblies for framework ".NETFramework,Version=v4.0" were not found. To resolve this, install the SDK or Targeting Pack for this framework version or retarget your application to a version of the framework for which you have the SDK or Targeting Pack installed. Note that assemblies will be resolved from the Global Assembly Cache (GAC) and will be used in place of reference assemblies. Therefore your assembly may not be correctly targeted for the framework you intend.    Win32    C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\14.0\bin\Microsoft.Common.CurrentVersion.targets    1098

Now, since I'm trying to create a Win32 application, I don't understand why it's complaining about .NET?

Also, where is the output from the build? I can see no executable files in the Workspace\Solutionname\Projectname\ folder?

Tuesday, November 01, 2016 7:11 PM

All replies

• However, if I select Build -> Compile (Ctrl-F7), I get the following error message:

What source file do you have as the active document when you invoke
    that command?

Also, where is the output from the build?

By default it's in $(OutDir)$(TargetName)$(TargetExt) - which is