Displaying Hierarchical Data In LightSwitch ? RRS feed

• Question

• I have a requirement to display hierarchical data in LightSwitch and presume a SilverLight treeview inside a custom control is the way to go ?

Great, but I have no SL experience!

The data in question is bill-of-material information and is contained within one table. A ParentPartNumberID field is used to associate child parts with a parent part, and complex structures can result in a hierarchy 4 or 5 levels deep.

I've come across this post:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/lsextensibility/thread/bcdaa86f-459a-47d3-853a-3c5e56eb088a

But there seems a lot to it, and any pointers would be appreciated.

I have created a test SL control and bound it to some LS data, but the tree showed no data.

I'm suspecting that I might need to populate the tree in code ( this is how I did it in WinForms ), but I'm not sure if the SL treeview can be populated manually from within LS ?

If anyone has done something like this I would be grateful for any help you can offer...

Thanks,

Nick  

Thursday, July 14, 2011 5:29 PM

All replies

• Hi Nick,

I have a similar requirement for one of the entities in my application and I'm going to do the "poor man's tree" by using a grid and indenting the display column using tabs (or spaces) to give a tree-like experience. I've briefly tested this a month ago and thought it would work.

If you could base your grid query on a view you could return an integer column indicating the number of levels for the current item and then create a computed DisplayDescription property of type string which is a concatenation of the appropriate number of tabs (or spaces) to show the indentation (based on the integer column giving the level number) and the normal display description you would use.

Another way would be to concatenate the DisplayDescription inside the view itself which should give better sorting options as computed properties aren't sortable.

Hope this helps.