none
listbox columnwidth how it works? RRS feed

• Question

• can someone explain the secrets of the list-boxes columnwidth. I have some knowledge of the columnwidth but want to learn more on how it works.

Jim Neely

Thursday, June 21, 2012 8:16 PM

Answers

• OMG!!!!!! You don't know how LONG I have been working on this. Thank You Thank You

Jim Neely

• Marked as answer by STARFALLS Sunday, June 24, 2012 9:43 PM
    Sunday, June 24, 2012 9:15 PM

All replies

• Hello Jim,

I will cover a few thing that I am aware of and if that does not cover what you want then maybe you will have specific questions about other things not covered. Also others might be able to expand on this post with further information.

1. When you set the number of columns in a list box it appears to have a default value for the width of each column. I have never been able to find that default ColumnWidth value.

2. The default measurement for ColumnWidths is in Points. Can be changed to inches or centimetres. Enter "ColumnWidths Property" (without the quotes) in Help for more info on this.

3. To set the ColumnWidths in properties using the default points measurement just enter as 50;40;60;30;50;50;50 etc for the number of columns. Excel will change this to look like the following: 49.95 pt;40 pt;60 pt;30 pt;49.95 pt;49.95 pt;49.95 pt. Note that the actual widths might change with decimal places and the pt is added. (You can actually enter the data using a comma separator and Excel will change it to a semi colon.)

4. I cannot read any values for the column widths if they have been left as default and the ColumnWidths property appears blank. However, the following code will read the individual column widths if the ColumnWidths property is populated by first placing them in an array.

Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
        'Return the ListBox column widths
        Dim i As Long
        Dim varTemp As Variant
        Dim arrColWidths As Variant

varTemp = Me.ListBox1.ColumnWidths