EULA: "Commercial software hosting service" RRS feed

• Question

• In VC++ 2008 Express, the EULA says "You also may not use the software for commercial software hosting services."

What does this mean?  I have no technical knowledge of what this refers to; the phrase means nothing to me.

Can I make an app that uses a http client/server to communicate across several machines?   The clients and servers may be on multiple machines.   Also, I suppose the apps can be considered commercial.  I would be using some of the VC++ 2008 Express included libraries as well.

Is there any way to ask Microsoft?
    Thursday, July 3, 2008 4:39 PM

Answers

• Taking legal advice from an Internet forum is probably not the best idea.  Ask your company's councel to review the EULA.  From where I sit, the phrase forbids you to use the software to create an Internet service and make money off of selling access to the service to 3rd parties.  That would make you a direct competitor to Microsoft, using their own software to compete with them, in a market segment that they are trying to control but don't.
    Hans Passant.
    • Marked as answer by Yan-Fei Wei Thursday, July 10, 2008 9:17 AM
    Thursday, July 3, 2008 5:16 PM

All replies

• Taking legal advice from an Internet forum is probably not the best idea.  Ask your company's councel to review the EULA.  From where I sit, the phrase forbids you to use the software to create an Internet service and make money off of selling access to the service to 3rd parties.  That would make you a direct competitor to Microsoft, using their own software to compete with them, in a market segment that they are trying to control but don't.
    Hans Passant.
    • Marked as answer by Yan-Fei Wei Thursday, July 10, 2008 9:17 AM
    Thursday, July 3, 2008 5:16 PM
  • Is there any way to ask Microsoft about it?
    • Edited by Kevin Ar18 Friday, July 4, 2008 4:04 AM ....
    Friday, July 4, 2008 12:30 AM
  •  

Hi,