Best Practices Lib and possible caching RRS feed

• Question

• User37428675 posted

We have two ways our web services communicates to SQL.  ASP.NET and Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data.    The best practices call is only used in one specific area where we read the webservice calls headers and authenticate it against SQL.    Once in a blue moon, we start getting access denied on all clients, but one.   That one is never the same, but who ever the lucky client is continues to process.    We end up restarted the web service and everything starts working again.    So now, I've been tasks to figure out what the problem is.

Just so you understand my comprehension in this.   I've been a professional software engineer/developer since 1995 years, but currently manage a development team.   I write software across 15 different languages fluently, so I fully understand the coding that was done in this project.  I don't always understand the backside of what Microsoft is doing, which is why I'm here.

My guess on this problem is there some kind of caching going on and at first I was thinking, connection pooling.   However, once I started looking into connection pooling and the best practices lib, I can't find anything.    The reason I think it's a caching issue is because there are no errors anywhere.   Eventlog has nothing, IIS logs have nothing, there isn't a connection failure error.   Everything works as if it was able to query SQL and come back with a value, but the value is incorrect to the query that was performed.   I then started looking for possible caching issues within the best practices lib and I found best processes has it's own caching methods, so I'm flooded with something I'm not really wanting to see.