SignalR WinForms RRS feed

• Question

• User-1602022852 posted

Hello,

I am new with SignalR.  I have a selfhost SignalR hub running using Owin.  I have sucessfully been to call a method from my WinForm application.  The problem that I am having is after the second call the the signalR server my winform application is locking up.  Any ideas or suggesstions? 

I have installed the following Nuget packages on my winform client:

- Microsoft.AspNet.SignalR.Client  V2.2.0
    - SignalR.Client.TypedHubProxy  V3.0.1
    - Newtonsoft.Json V8.0.1

Sample Call to server:

Dim value As ProductVision.IBroadcaster.UserSessionInfo = Nothing
    value = Me._hubProxy.Call(Function(hub) hub.GetUserSessionInfo())

I call the above code a second time (or any other method call to signalR server) my winform application will lock up.

Wednesday, January 13, 2016 6:39 PM

All replies

• User61956409 posted

Hi rpanosh,

The following link shows how to create a SignalR server and client in WinForms and WPF, you could refer to it.

https://code.msdn.microsoft.com/Using-SignalR-in-WinForms-f1ec847b

Best Regards,

Fei Han

Thursday, January 14, 2016 1:48 AM
  • User-1602022852 posted

Thanks for the reply.  I have already referred to this link.  I have my client and server working.  My problem is after I make a call to return some data (that is the key) the second time my code will lockup on the .Wait().   Here is a simple call that will return used license count.

Dim getUsedLicenseCountTask As System.Threading.Tasks.Task(Of Integer) =
        _hubProxy.Invoke(Of Integer)("GetUsedLicenseCount"New System.Object() {})

getUsedLicenseCountTask.Wait()

Dim count As System.Int32 =
        getUsedLicenseCountTask.Result

getUsedLicenseCountTask.Dispose()

If I call this same code a second time, right after the previous, it will lockup on the following line:

getUsedLicenseCountTask.Wait()

Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Rob

Thursday, January 14, 2016 1:24 PM