none
TTS SAPI Change Voice at Runtime RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

Plz excuse my sending this, I am only a nearby beginner at this forum thing and VB!

I am trying to write a TTS Program in Visual Basic 2012 Express using SAPI, I would like the program to change the voice from Male to Female if say the user selects Male from a listbox it will speak in a male voice and same for a female option.

So far all I can get it to do is speak in the computers default voice, I have checked and rechecked Youtube videos for an answer but nothing works, I found one and followed it letter by letter and still the only voice I get is the default one!

I'm using Windows 10 with vs express for windows (VB)

Can anyone plz help?

Friday, May 12, 2017 1:09 AM

All replies

• I have checked and rechecked Youtube videos for an answer but nothing works, I found one and followed it letter by letter and still the only voice I get is the default one!

Show the code you are using to change the voice.  The problem might be in the way that you are handling the selection rather than anything in SAPI.

However YouTube videos are not a reliable source for VB code, so there may be a problem with what you downloaded.

Friday, May 12, 2017 1:49 AM
  • -EDIT-

Sorry, wasn't thinking... you are using the old API.  If you want to use the managed speech API (add a reference to System.Speech) then the following would solve the problem.

-/EDIT-

Use the SelectVoiceByHints(VoiceGender) method to select the gender of the current voice.

Here is an example using two radio buttons to change gender:

Option Strict On
    Imports System.Speech.Synthesis

Public Class Form1

Friend WithEvents InputTextBox As New TextBox With {.Text = "Hello World! This is a test.", .Width = 200}
        Friend WithEvents SpeakButton As New Button With {.AutoSize = True, .Text = "Speak"}
        Friend WithEvents MaleVoiceRadioButton As New RadioButton With {.AutoSize = True, .Checked = True, .Text = "Male"}