none
Setting up a function or user control to allow the user to import csv or excel files RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys.

Before I start, I'm very new to asp .net development and I'm having to learn as I go. I've got the task of creating a quite large reporting and assessment tracking application for the school I work for.

I've looked on asp.net site, through my books (all 3 of them) and on here and other forums for the solution to my problem. I want to be able to learn how to do this, not just download someone else's example. Smile

I'm going to use an sql server database for the main data in my app, but I need to do automated daily imports of data that comes from another database. I cant connect to the other database, its restricted. There's an exe I've used that can export reports at schelduled times from the other database, this works great and produces csv files. I've also used sql server's dts import export function to schedule an import every nighjt that updates the data in my database with the data found in the daily exported csv. This works fine I think, so all is good here.

What I want to do is to create an import function so that I (or another 'admin' user) can import data whenever they want from a spreadsheet or csv and this can update a specified table with the new data. I would ideally like the user to be able to specify where the source csv is, and match it's columns to columns in my sql database, and also provide exception handling, in case the csv isn't right for whatever reson, or the data doesnt match up.

Any ideas on how I go about learning how to do this would be great. Many thanks in advance

Dave
    Tuesday, June 19, 2007 8:12 AM

All replies

• no ideas? (bump)
    Tuesday, June 19, 2007 3:16 PM
  • You have to break the problem down.  There are (it seems to me) four different parts of the problem:
    1. Reading the CSV data into some temporary data structure