none
UI automation RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to UI automation. I have a open source UI automation tool which I want to enhance for my QA team.

This tool is developed in C# using Microsoft UI automation APIs. 

Now here is the problem:

Suppose, I want to run below test cases with this tool:

1. Maximize a windows desktop application let's say XYZ

2. Open a file let's say file.txt in that windows application

3. Close the application window

Now, before running the test cases, for each of these test cases, I have to give control information.

For example, for 1st and 3rd test case, I have to give control information like window title and for 2nd test case, I have to give control information of open button and send keystrokes of file.txt to open dialog box.

I hope, you understood the flow so far.

Now, I already set the same control information for 1st and 3rd test case. Let's say windows title for this moment was <application name>

But when 2nd test case run, that means when file.txt opens in the application, window title changes.

It becomes something like - <application name - file.txt> 

Now, when third test runs, it does not find the window because window title has been changed in test case 2.

So, I want the test case 3 anyhow detect the window. 

How can I achieve this?

Thank you in advance

Best regards,

Navnath

Monday, January 22, 2018 5:06 PM

All replies

• A window is usually identified by its class name or class name + title

For example with FindWindow and Notepad class name :

IntPtr hWndNotepad = FindWindow("Notepad", null);
    if (hWndNotepad != IntPtr.Zero)
    {
        MessageBox.Show(string.Format("Notepad Window handle = {0}", hWndNotepad.ToString("X")));
    }

With :

[DllImport("User32.dll", SetLastError = true, CharSet = CharSet.Unicode)]
          public static extern IntPtr FindWindow(string lpClassName, string lpWindowName);

Monday, January 22, 2018 5:30 PM
  • Hello,

Thank you for the feedback.