Threading - how can thread update a variable shared with the Main thread RRS feed

• Question

• User-721008300 posted

I'm new to threading and have used it successfully, but limited.  I can spawn a thread and have the main thread reference variables in the spawned thread, but I don't know how to allow the spawned thread to reference (and update) variables in the main thread.

Any example threading code I've seen on the web appears to be WAY more complicated than what I do, so I am unable to understand or integrate into my code.

Here is a quick example of how I use threading:

public partial class ThreadVariableSharing : System.Web.UI.Page<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>

{<o:p></o:p>

protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)<o:p></o:p>

if (!IsPostBack)<o:p></o:p>

MyThreadClass workerObject = new MyThreadClass();<o:p></o:p>

Thread workerThread = new Thread(workerObject.StartTheThread);<o:p></o:p>

workerThread.Start();<o:p></o:p>

<o:p> </o:p>

Session["workerObject"] = workerObject;<o:p></o:p>

}<o:p></o:p>

<o:p></o:p>

protected void Button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)<o:p></o:p>

MyThreadClass workerObject = (MyThreadClass)Session["workerObject"];<o:p></o:p>

//this is how I currently update CommonVariable from the Main Thread<o:p></o:p>

workerObject.CommonVariable = 5;<o:p></o:p>

class MyThreadClass<o:p></o:p>

public int CommonVariable;<o:p></o:p>

public void StartTheThread()<o:p></o:p>

//this is where I'd like to update some shared variable from the Spawned Thread<o:p></o:p>

//and have that effect 'visible' from the main thread<o:p></o:p>

Any suggestions on how to allow the spawned thread to reference (and update) variables in the main thread?

Thanks in advance...

Brad

Wednesday, November 24, 2010 12:21 PM

Answers

All replies

• User-721008300 posted

Hi sachingusain,  thanks for the quick response, I really appreciate it.