none
Powershell and Excel RRS feed

• Question

• Hey everyone! I was wondering if I could get a hand with something.

I work in a school district as the helpdesk technician. Our teachers are now required to update clearances every three years. One of our users is in charge of keeping track of that SO, I created an excel sheet that the user would input the dates the current subscription are active and it would calculate how many days are left until the clearances have expired. She is also responsible to remind the teachers when they have a certain amount of time left.

I'd like to know if there is a way to create a powershell script that runs daily to check the excel doc and automatically email the teachers that fall within a certain range of dates (1 year, 90 days and 30 days). I'll probably use Windows Task Manger to ensure that the script runs on a schedule. I've done a little work in PowerShell but only to make a script that calls other .exe or .msi. Please be gentle, I'm fairly new at this.

The tools I have available are
    Our email is hosted through google BUT we have an application that allows gmail to sync with Outlook
    The current OS is Windows 7 64 bit

Tuesday, June 16, 2015 7:15 PM

Answers

• Hi BAVTS,

>>She is also responsible to remind the teachers when they have a certain amount of time left.

I'd like to know if there is a way to create a powershell script that runs daily to check the excel doc and automatically email the teachers that fall within a certain range of dates (1 year, 90 days and 30 days). I'll probably use Windows Task Manger to ensure that the script runs on a schedule<<

We can use Excel object model to manipulate the spreadsheet. For example, we can get the value in A1 with code below:

Range("A1")

And you can get more detail about hadling cells, ranges and workbboks from link below:
    How Do I... with Cells and Ranges

How Do I... with Workbooks and Worksheets