Deploy ActiveX control by MSI RRS feed

• Question

• I have an ActiveX control that i would like to register on a few hundred PCs. One way to do this is to create my own MSI which has the ActiveX control. I did read this http://support.microsoft.com/Default.aspx?id=280579 but the option is only valid possibly for older versions??

I've never done this before so could someone guide me or point me to an aricle hat would walk me through this using Visual Basic .Net (2008)?

Thanks
    Tuesday, May 5, 2009 2:14 PM

Answers

• Hi EssCee,

Using MSI installer to deploy an ActiveX control is straight forward. The following are the steps:
    1. Create a Setup project in Visual Studio 2008.
    2. Add the ActiveX control DLL file into this Setup project.
    3. Selec the ActiveX DLL file in Solution Explorer and switch to Properties window.
    4. Select vsdrfCOM for the Register property.

Build the Setup project and VS will extract and write COM registry entries for the ActiveX control into the resulted MSI package. When you install this MSI package, the ActiveX control DLL file will be copied to the wtarget machine and the registry entries will be added to the Registry.

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,
    Linda Liu

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help. end us any feedback you have about the help from MSFT at fbmsdn@microsoft.com.
    • Marked as answer by EssCee Saturday, May 16, 2009 12:38 PM
    Wednesday, May 13, 2009 4:42 AM

All replies

• Hi EssCee,

Using MSI installer to deploy an ActiveX control is straight forward. The following are the steps:
    1. Create a Setup project in Visual Studio 2008.
    2. Add the ActiveX control DLL file into this Setup project.
    3. Selec the ActiveX DLL file in Solution Explorer and switch to Properties window.
    4. Select vsdrfCOM for the Register property.