Difference between Visual Studio with Xamarin and Xamarin Studio RRS feed

• Question

• User147641 posted

Hey Everyone,

I am new to app programming, however I do know how to code in C#, C, and C++. I have a Microsoft student account and have Visual Studio and recently I downloaded Xamarin Studio. What is the difference between Visual Studio with Xamarin and Xamarin Studio? Which one is better? Also, which is the easiest language to code apps in.

Thank you

Wednesday, August 5, 2015 12:49 PM

Answers

• User48032 posted

Visual Studio - available on Windows machines - support for Xamarin iOS, Xamarin Android, and Windows (i.e. Windows Store, Windows Phone, and Universal) projects - Visual Studio supports extensions. Many devs love Resharper, as one example.

Xamarin Studio on Windows only supports Xamarin Android projects Xamarin Studio on Mac only supports Xamarin Android and Xamarin iOS projects

The easiest language to code in is the language you're most familiar with. If you're comfortable in Objective-C and C++, and that's what you want to use, then you don't need Xamarin. Xamarin is popular because it allows .NET Developers to create cross platform apps using C#, and enables code reuse among the targeted platforms through Portable Class Libraries and/or Shared Projects (which you won't get if you choose to develop native iOS and Android apps).

If you are comfortable with C# and want to create cross platform apps that target multiple platforms while being able to maximize code reuse, then use Xamarin and C#.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, June 3, 2021 12:00 AM
    Wednesday, August 5, 2015 2:17 PM
  • User65389 posted

@LoriLalonde:
    Good explanation :smiley:
    Add (to @SaivamsiHanumanthu)
    With Visual Studio, you have various further possibilities to create software (Windows Forms / WPF, web-applications (ASP.NET), Cordova, and so on...
    So... as you already have VS, I think, the best way for you is, to go with VS :smirk: