none
VC++ Outlook 2013 Addin creation and deployment RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Guys,

I am new to VC++ . I have some queries:

1) I need to created and deploy outlook 2013 Addin using VC++ . Please help me with any sample tutorial.

2) I have outlook plugin code that was developed using vc++. It supports outlook 2007,2012. I need to upgrade it so that i can support outlook 2013. Please let me know how to start on this project.

Regards,

Samira

Wednesday, May 7, 2014 8:07 AM

Answers

• Hi Samira,

You just need to call the Outlook object model properties and methods on the main thread. You are free to run background threads without Outlook objects. So, you can get the value on the main thread and save it to a variable which you can use in another threads.

What exactly do you want to fix?

Thursday, May 15, 2014 12:09 PM

All replies

• Hello Samira,

Do you develop an unmanaged add-in for Outlook?

If so, please take a look at the Outlook 2010: Building a C++ Add-In sample add-in project. Also see Building a C++ Add-in for Outlook 2010 article in MSDN. Also you may find the How To Automate Outlook Using Visual C++/MFC article helpful.

Your add-in should implement IDTExtensibity2 interface. That's all. Did you try to register it for Outlook 2013?

Wednesday, May 7, 2014 11:49 AM
  • Hi Eugene,

Can you let me know how to register for Outlook 2013 and how can we build the release for both 32 bit and 64 bit.

Regards,

Samira

Thursday, May 8, 2014 6:02 AM
  • There is no difference in registering COM add-ins between previous Outlook versions and 2013. See Registry Entries for Application-Level Add-Ins article in MSDN for more information. You just need to set the target platform of your add-in to x86 for Outlook 2013 x86 and x64 for Outlook 2013 x64.
    Thursday, May 8, 2014 9:53 AM
  • Hi Eugene,