none
connecting to sql database c# RRS feed

• Question

• im using visual studios 2008 C#.
    i have written this line of code at load page just to see if i can connect to a database in my local machine.
    the name of the database is "Database"
    i have named pipes and TCP/IP enabled in sql configuration manager i have opened a port which no other service is using and still i just cant seem to connect. this is my first time trying to connect to a database.
    here's the code.

SqlConnection conn = new SqlConnection("Data Source=(local);Initial Catalog=Database;Integrated Security=SSPI");
    conn.Open();

Error!

An error has occurred while establishing a connection to the server.  When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may be caused by the fact that under the default settings SQL Server does not allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server)

i have tried for hour to fix this but Sad.. i just want to simply connect to a database and grab some values from it.
    any suggestions would be useful
    thanks
    Thursday, April 3, 2008 11:43 PM

Answers

•  un33k wrote:
    im using visual studios 2008 C#.
    i have written this line of code at load page just to see if i can connect to a database in my local machine.

i have tried for hour to fix this but .. i just want to simply connect to a database and grab some values from it.
    thanks

The first suggestion is not to use named pipes. I don't think anybody is using them, especially locally. Secondly, close your TCP/IP connection. You don't need it locally either.