Unable to successfully publish project RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have a relatively simple application where a good contractor put together in Visual Studio things that I am incapable of doing.  It basically consists of adding a few Windows forms containing specialized instructions for use at the start of an open-source program.

After some fine-tuning that I was able to do on my own, the hybrid application opens and runs correctly and well when opened from the appropriate bin folder in the cloned application folder.  Now I just need to publish that so select other people can install and inspect the application on their devices.  I am unable to accomplish this thus far (noting that while I can do a limited amount I am not a programmer by any means).

I am starting with something simpler first, that of trying to use the one-click publishing process and publishing the application to where it can be installed from a CD or comparable media rather than through online means.  I will add here that I am first trying this publishing process purely with just the original open-source program, not even adding in my forms yet (in other words cloning the open-source program and turning it right back around and publishing it so that it can be installed as a functioning application on a computer).  I am not even able to successfully do this.

The publishing process "seems" to go okay and I get a setup icon and other relevant files, and when subsequently trying to install from that the application "seems" to install.  But when done it will not open, commonly just getting a brief view of the open-source program splash screen before disappearing and never opening to the actual application.