DBPro - Incorrect syntax near "object_name". RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to use Database Project 2010 to pull in all of our databases and I am getting an error with one of them.

The database level setting for QUOTED_IDENTIFIER is set to OFF. However at the individual trigger session level, the QUOTED_IDENTIFIER is set to ON. When DBPro script the triggers from the database, it looks like this:

CREATE TRIGGER "XXX_UTrig" ON tblXXX FOR UPDATE AS
    SET NOCOUNT ON

IF UPDATE(XXX_ID)....

The error I am getting is "Incorrect syntax near "XXX_UTrig" due to the double quote. If I set QUOTED_IDENTIFIER to ON in Database.sqlsettings, all the double quote errors went away.

However I would not prefer to change the QUOTED_IDENTIFIER setting on the physical database if I can resolve it in database project. So how can I make DBPro retrieve each and every database settings at the object level and safe it in DBPro? I am still new to DBPro so I hope it is just my lack of profess with the tool. Thanks in advance for your help.

Friday, October 22, 2010 1:27 AM

Answers

• You can set the quoted_identifer option on individual objects. If you select the trigger in solution explorer, right click it and select properties. You should then see a property called quoted identifiers. You can set this to project default, on or off. Setting it to on for this object should solve your problem

Anthony

Friday, October 22, 2010 11:41 AM
  • Hello lkean,

Thanks for your post.

When you save objects or load a database that contains quoted identifiers if the SET QUOTED_IDENTIFER check box is cleared in the database properties, errors will appear.

To work around this issue, besides Anthony’s great advice, you also have two options.

1). First, you can change “XXX_UTrig” to [XXX_UTrig].

2). Second, just as you mentioned, you can select the SET QUOTED_INDENTIFIER check box in the database property file.

Hopeful it helps you. Let me know if you have any further concerns.

Thanks,