Seeking Help With Using XUnit and Moq to Test an OWIN Web API Endpoint RRS feed

• Question

• User-94355476 posted

I'm fairly new to writing Unit Tests and am challenged to find a solution to what I think should be something easy.  I've successfully built an ASP.NET Web API that uses the OWIN hosting approach.  My API is essentially a conduit between a Web App and the LibGit2Sharp library.  Everything works great but now I need to refactor it so that Unit Tests can be written.

For demonstration purposes, here's the original code of one endpoint:

[HttpGet]
            [Route("api/orgs/{orgName}/repos/{repoName}/files")]
            public HttpResponseMessage GetAllFiles(string orgName, string repoName)
            {
                List<File> files = new List<File>();

try
                {
                    using (var repo = new Repository(SysIoHelper.GetRepoPath(orgName, repoName)))
                    {
                        var currentCommit = repo.Head.Tip;
                        foreach (TreeEntry treeEntry in currentCommit.Tree)
                        {
                            if (treeEntry.TargetType == TreeEntryTargetType.Blob)
                            {
                                File file = new File();
                                file.Filename = treeEntry.Path;
                                files.Add(file);
                            }
                        }
                    }
                }
                catch (Exception)
                {
                    var error = new HttpError("Something went wrong trying to retrieve the list of files in the repo.");
                    return Request.CreateErrorResponse(HttpStatusCode.InternalServerError, error);
                }

HttpResponseMessage response = Request.CreateResponse(HttpStatusCode.OK, files);
                return response;
            }

I then did a ton of reading on Dependency Injection (DI) and refactored it like this:

[HttpGet]