none
Help creating edi 837 REF*D9 segment RRS feed

• Question

• I need to create the REF*D9 segment for our trading partner. Our current edi process does not generate this segment.  The segment is basically a copy of the REF*F8 segment, except for the REF01 qualifier being different.  I have been able to generate the segment when the REF*F8 is in the subscriber loop, but the F8 segment can also be created in 2 other loops further down the schema (in the TS837_2330B loop). I have tried numerous solutions for this failing each time. I was told that XSLT would be best, but am not sure of the logic to use. I am new to BizTalk and XSLT, so I am not even sure of the syntax or how to reference the fields. This process is using 837P schema for source and destination. Could someone please help me out with how to populate this D9 segment, no matter what loop the F8 segment is created in? Thanks, I appreciate the help.
    Thursday, December 18, 2014 6:02 PM

Answers

• First, make sure you have the requirement right because 2010BB and 2330B would be different payers.

There's a few things that can influence this in the Map, but start here:

1. Map REF02_PayerClaimControlNumber and REF02_OtherPayer_sClaimControlNumber (yes, there is a type in the Element name) to Index Functoids.
    2. Map the two Index Functoids to a Scripting Functoid.
    3. In the Scripting Functoid, have where decision logic you need.
    4. Map the Scripting Functoid to you destination node.

If you Validate Map, you can see what the XSLT generated is to make adjustments.

• Proposed as answer by Angie Xu Thursday, January 1, 2015 3:18 AM
    • Marked as answer by Angie Xu Wednesday, January 7, 2015 9:31 AM
    Thursday, December 18, 2014 10:58 PM
  • What you need can be done, but you have to keep checking the configuration of the Index Functoid against the generated xslt.