none
ExecuteReader does not return query RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I'm not a frequent visitor to this forums, so please forgive me if this is not the correct place.

I am using sql express 2005 and I'm accessing it with a c# app using sqlclient and at the same time monitoring it via sql tables through a asp.net website that is also connected to the same database.

The problem I have is that when I execute a certain query from the sql frontend it returns perfectly, but when I execute the same query verbatim in c# it does not return -> it keeps returning blanks for a while and then suddenly it returns the result (the delay is random).

My first guess is that it could be a db logging issue - in that the updates are still in queue - but I don't know why it is available in the frontend, and I can't understand why that would be because I have not executed any giant queries, and the database is less than 3 mb in size.

I have a couple of years experience with sql programming and would classify be as at least half an expert, but I have to admit that I am completely stumped as I have been double checking this for hours and I know that there must be something I am missing that is outside the scope of my frame of thinking.

Does anyone here know how to solve this - I would really appreciate any help on this.

Friday, March 28, 2008 4:01 PM

All replies

• Please post your query and C# code to run the query. What do you mean "blanks"?

This is the sample c# code to run the query:

Code Snippet

SqlConnection con = new SqlConnection("Data Source=Van-3005-VM2;Integrated Security=SSPI;Initial Catalog=Test");

con.Open();

SqlCommand cmd = new SqlCommand("SELECT * FROM testDecimal", con);

SqlDataReader reader = cmd.ExecuteReader();

while (reader.Read())

{

Console.WriteLine(reader.GetSqlDecimal(0));

}

reader.Close();

Friday, March 28, 2008 6:09 PM