none
Help Needed for Multiple Extended cascading List Boxes Filtering a SubForm! RRS feed

• Question

• I am somewhat new to Access development and have been tasked to build an extensive database.  The more recent trouble I've come into is building a form that includes 5 multi-select cascading list boxes that will filter the subform.  I tried offering alternatives, but it just keeps coming down to needing to be able to select multiple values per list box that filter the next list box AND that filters the subform results.  I tried to take a similar form that was cascading combo boxes and change those into extended list boxes, but the only thing that occurs is that there are several parameter boxes that pop up from the subform query and nothing occurs to the subform.  I know that since it’s extended list boxes AND those lists are filtered that there is code that is needed, but I can’t seem to get anything to work based on code I’ve copied online.  So I need help to get me going, please!  Here's what I've got:<o:p></o:p>

First, the tables & relationships:<o:p></o:p>

1. TblSites: includes the fields SiteID & Site; related to tblIndex & tblStudies via SiteID.<o:p></o:p>

2. tblIndex: includes the fields IndexID, RecordID, StudyID, SiteID, LocationID, DivisionID, DescriptionID, ComponentID, Quantity, Cost, SubTotalCost, TotalFees, TotalCost; related to tblSites via SiteID, tblStudies via StudyID, & tblStudyRecords via RecordID.<o:p></o:p>

3. tblStudies: includes StudyID, DateAdded, SiteID; related to tblSites via SiteID, tblIndex via IndexID, and tblStudyRecords via StudyID.<o:p></o:p>

4. tblStudyRecords: includes RecordID, DateAdded, StudyID, Location, Division, Description, Component, Cost, & SubTotalCost; Related to tblIndex via RecordID, & tblStudies via StudyID.<o:p></o:p>

Second, the query the subform is based on: