none
Report viewer auto print.. RRS feed

• Question

• I have a application where a user can create Purchase Orders, then batch print them..  Basically i'd like to loop through my list of PO's, and as i'm looping print the PO to the printer. I haven't been able to figure out how to just print a report (.rdlc) via the reportviewer on my form.. when I use reportviewer.printdocument.print it prints a blank page (as if I don't have anything in my report).. can't be data cause the page #'s don't even print. I can preview each PO as i'm looping through just fine if I use reportviewer.show (or showdialog).  I'm still a novice at .net 2005. I wish they didn't over complicate the printing... Sad There are some "cool" things, but man the reporting is a pain!!

Thanks for your help in advance!!

Tony

Tuesday, July 3, 2007 7:57 PM

All replies

• There may be a couple of ways to do this...

I wrote a quick example for some folks that wanted to d/l to a PDF without showing a reportviewer, here.  http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=1718577&SiteID=1

However, in that case, we're talking about a server mode report.  If you are talking about a local-mode report I think you you can still render to a PDF without showing the viewer (programmatically instantiate it but not show it, I mean).  Local mode renders to a PDf or Excel.

Whichever mode you're in, you can send a PDF to a printer -- try

acrord32 /t <pdfname>

the /t option has some parameters that send it to a particular driver and printer, see http://two.pairlist.net/pipermail/reportlab-users/2003-September/002068.html and page 27 or thereabouts of this http://partners.adobe.com/public/developer/en/acrobat/sdk/pdf/intro_to_sdk/DeveloperFAQ.pdf

and I quote:

AcroRd32.exe /t path "printername" "drivername" "portname" — Initiates Adobe Reader and prints a file, whose path must be fully specified, while suppressing the Print dialog box.