none
Can I write a library for small basic in small basic and if so, how? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a beginner programmer. I had no idea where to start programming until an ITT Programmer I was shadowing for a SABA trip told me about small basic. From what I've seen so far I can probably do a lot with it.

My friends created a strategy board game and have been thinking that it would be fun as a computer game, and currently being the only one with any programming knowledge, that task falls to me. Being a beginner programmer, I am not too sure of the limitations of small basic, but mostly I would like the game to feature these (by all means skip ahead if you don't care to read the following and would rather just answer my question) :

1. Different unit stats. By far what makes strategy games good is the balance of Units on each team and i would like to know if it is possible to record different unit types in a single program, possibly in arrays?

2. Graphics. This is more or less fluff that would be nice to have but is not necessary. What is the extent of the graphics Library?

3. UI. How hard is it to program a screen that would let you view unit stats and other battle info that i currently can't think of?

Now that the above background is out of the way, back to the original question. Can I make different libraries in the small basic language, and how would I go about doing this? All the libraries I've so far seen have been made in a more advanced language and then compiled for small basic. I would also like some info on the graphics capabilities of small basic please. I am hoping that I can convince my friends to learn small basic as well, I highly doubt that at my beginning stage I could get this game done by myself.

Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks!  

Tuesday, May 11, 2010 1:33 AM

Answers

• Burgerman,

The answer to your question about libraries is No.