none
How to make a maze game? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello again!

I am wanting to get better at programming. so, i thought: "i'll get better the more i do it!" which is working. but, i have ran into a problem. i have no idea how to make a maze game! It's my next project i'm working on, while i'm taking a break from my text adventure. Any, to the point!

I have not gotten very far... i only have 1 line drawn, and i don't think i'll get much farther than that.

If you can maybe direct me to a handy tutorial, or a example, or just help me directly, it will be great.

Please note, that i am only a beginner, and i know very little. (but i know how to use pretty basic commands)

Thank you again, and sorry for all my questions. *.*

Small Basic Beginner. :3

Monday, April 15, 2013 9:40 PM

Answers

• Hello 8Bit Pony!

There's nothing wrong with asking questions =)

Maze games can get pretty tricky. What you want to do is store your maze in a 2D array with one character (such as 'S') representing the start and another (such as 'F') representing the finish. Then, use another character (such as '*") to represent walls and one more (such as '.') to represent places the player can go.

Then, iterate (with a double for loop) through the array elements and draw them in a TextWindow and use two number variables to hold the player's X and Y positions (and another two to represent the length and width of the maze). You can use TextWindow.ReadKey() to get the last key pressed and handle each arrow key like so (pseudocode):

If LastKey = RightArrow If PlayerX > 0 And PlayerY > 0 'make sure we are not at the top If PlayerX < MazeWidth 'make sure we are in the bounds of the maze If Maze[PlayerX + 1][PlayerY] = "." 'check if this is not a wall PlayerX = PlayerX + 1 'move the player to the right EndIf EndIf EndIf EndIf

'...other arrow key actions

You will also need to add checks to see if the player is at the finish point or any other special points you may want to add.