BACKUP MAINTENANCE PLAN RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I found that most of the backup maintenance plan that the DB has in place are really not working, there were few that worked completely, today it was msg saying log backup problems, I was checking and I found that there are trn files sice January 2015, my question since Im new with DB, what happen if I delete those, I know that solution used here all the time since I have started 2 month ago is shrink the database.

Tuesday, March 24, 2015 2:22 AM

Answers

• A database back up task via SQL Server Maintenance Plans - See more at: http://www.sqlshack.com/database-back-up-task-via-sql-server-maintenance-plans/#sthash.NYYq2D7T.dpuf

Hello ,

Can you please check your steps with the below steps of maintenance plans :

http://www.sqlshack.com/database-back-up-task-via-sql-server-maintenance-plans/

I think there will be some gap .

Ahsan Kabir Please remember to click Mark as Answer and Vote as Helpful on posts that help you. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread. http://www.aktechforum.blogspot.com/

Tuesday, March 24, 2015 4:17 AM
  • Hello,

I found that most of the backup maintenance plan that the DB has in place are really not working, there were few that worked completely, today it was msg saying log backup problems, I was checking and I found that there are trn files sice January 2015, my question since Im new with DB, what happen if I delete those, I know that solution used here all the time since I have started 2 month ago is shrink the database.

Hi,

If I understand correctly your Maintenance plan(MP) is not working, specifically its not deleting old files. That has always been problem with MP instead I would suggest you to use Ola Hallengren Backup solution. Please read FAQ before proceeding.

About whether you can delete files or not, its hard to say from here. Keep files as per retention policy you have and after that remove all unwanted files