Fill in multiple text boxes based on selection made from dropdown info pulled in via jquery/ajax webservice RRS feed

• Question

• User-468656528 posted

I am in need of a little assistance. I have been trying to figure out what the best way to approach the situation, not to mention I am a noob when it comes to C#, JQuery, Ajax and asp.net so bare with me as I try to explain.

As it stands now, I have two dynamically created select boxes with several options(More select boxes can be added if needed and typically users create a minimum of 5-10)-- we can call the two boxes Select 1 and Select 2. These boxes are populated based on the fill select function in JQuery. Select 2 is dependent upon Select 1 in other words once an option is chosen from Select1; Select2 gets populated with the appropriate data. See function below;

FillSelect($smelterMetalSelect, "GetMetals", {}, "", true, false, "metalId", "name", answer != undefined ? answer.metal_id : "", function () {
                        FillSelect($smelterSelect, "GetSmeltersByMetal", { metalId: answer.metal_id }, "", true, false, "smelterId", "name", answer.smelterId, function () {
                            hideShowDetail($smelterSelect);
                        });
                    });

Now once an option is selected in the Select- +2 box a div gets appended to the selection with multiple input and radio buttons. See code below (as you can see each append adds either an input box or a radio button with the same class);

$smelterDiv.append($smelter);
                var $smelterDetailDiv = $("<div class='smelter-detail-div'></div>");
                var $smelterName = $('<br><span class="smelter-name-span smelter-detail" ><label class="smelter-detail-label">Name: </label><input class="smelter-name ui-widget-content " /></span>');
                $smelterDetailDiv.append($smelterName);