Create news article maximum words? RRS feed

• Question

• User520065796 posted

I recently finished my Club Starter Kit (with the original one) and have one problem left. When i'm adding a new article with a lot of text it doesn't work. With 4 lines or so everything works fine, but when i try to add like 20 lines it just doesn't do anything.

Anyone?

Rob.

Ps. You can check my site at www.cloeckenmoedigh.nl

Wednesday, September 26, 2007 2:20 PM

All replies

• User-2074625069 posted

What is the maximum size for an article in the database? what is the column field type and size?

Wednesday, September 26, 2007 3:04 PM
  • User520065796 posted

For starters, i'm a complete noob when it comes to ASP, but the Club Starter Kit was so easy, that even I could do it. I used Microsoft Visual Web Developer 2005 Express to make it. When I browse to the database (club.mdf) and then open tables - events - description I see Length=800, but i'm unable to change it. Is this the value i should change and if so, how do i do this?

Rob.

Thursday, September 27, 2007 10:02 AM
  • User2069888697 posted

you can use "sql server management studio express" to modify the table. if you do not have it download it at

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/express/bb410791.aspx

Once you get to the table you can change the Data Type and Max Length.

I changed it to varchar with a max of 8000

Thursday, September 27, 2007 7:57 PM
  • User520065796 posted

I tried this, but i guess i don't inderstand. Can i simply open the club.mdf file in SQL Server Management Studio Express?

When i open this program and open the club.mdf file, it says:

There is no editor available for c:\.....\club.mdf. Make sure the application for the file type (.mdf) is installed.

Saturday, September 29, 2007 4:30 AM
  • User-2074625069 posted