Input data is lost between pages RRS feed

• Question

• User1459065186 posted

Hi, 

Apologies in advance, I am very new to ASP.Net and so this question maybe trivial, however I have searched high and low and can not seem to find the solution...

so my application has 2 pages...

1. A Form - (Users input values into this form via txtBoxs, radioButtons etc..)

2. Guidance - (the user can refer to this page if they need help with how to answer the questions on the first page)

PROBLEM - when ever a user selects the guidance page for assistance (via the NavigationMenu built into the master page (Site.master)) and then selects the Form page to go back to populating the form they loose all the data they had previously entered, how do I stop this from happening?

I think I have enables viewstatemode on all fields within my first page (Form) however i'm still having this issue, any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advanced 

Frank 

Monday, May 2, 2016 7:00 PM

Answers

• User-491950272 posted

The problem you are confronting can be either solve by:

• (Recommended) Don't use a whole Guidance page for answers, instead use a small label and make them available upon receiving focus using Angular or jQuery.
    • If you still want to follow this way of solving problem, you can cached the data in all of the inputs fields in the local storage using available form save state jQuery plugins such as this
    • Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, May 2, 2016 7:43 PM

All replies

• User-491950272 posted

The problem you are confronting can be either solve by:

• (Recommended) Don't use a whole Guidance page for answers, instead use a small label and make them available upon receiving focus using Angular or jQuery.
    • If you still want to follow this way of solving problem, you can cached the data in all of the inputs fields in the local storage using available form save state jQuery plugins such as this